Call the Function!

One of the exercises in the Javascript track on Codecademy is building a rock-paper-scissors game.  At the end of the exercise you need to “call the function” for the simple program to run.

And I didn’t know what to do.  Pages and pages of notes and I still didn’t know what call the function meant.

So I went to the Q&A Forum to look for help.  And the little code snippet was right in front of me, but I didn’t know where to put it.

Someday – hopefully soon – I will look back on this and laugh.  When I was learning to play golf and poker and started doing CrossFit, I had the same moments.  You feel lost and dumb, but you get through it and laugh at it a few weeks, months or years down the road.

The secret is to keep searching and remember that the answer is out there.  You just have to have the determination to find it.

I was also lucky enough to stumble across The New Boston and his videos on Youtube.  I’ll have to check some out and see if they should get added to the Lesson Plan.

So I finally figured it out after reviewing my notes again and first felt silly that calling the function is what you do at the end of the program and secondly so darn happy when it actually worked.

I know I was basically copying Codecademy’s code, but I helped out and learned and that little spark in me that knows I can do this got a little stronger and burned a little brighter.

In the end, it was a good day.

Leave a Reply

